The RIFE

Born of the common desire of the local group of children the ” P’tits Châgnes ” and of the municipality of Saint Maixent l’École, the week of festivities scheduled in July, aroused the creation in May 1990 of an association law 1901 : the International Meetings of Children’s Folklore. (RIFE in French)

Since then, the Festival of the Children of the World organized by the association has become an event that is at the forefront of the cultural events in the area of the Haut Val de Sèvres and the Poitou Charentes region. During seven days, the city of Saint Maixent l’École, located at the same distance from Poitiers as from La Rochelle, takes on colors and livens up with the numerous artists, from 7 to 14 years old, from all over the world. These encounters of children from all countries, from all origins and from all confessions, demonstrate the natural fraternity of young people. These children consider Saint Maixent l’École as a land of authentic welcome : the festival’s organizing team takes into account both the quality of the shows and the well-being of the little guests.

Every year, many countries pay tribute to traditional music, dance and singing. These meetings allow everyone to travel through street entertainments, exotic shows, concerts and concerts appetizers. Without forgetting the craft market, the exhibitions, but also the musical heritage that make the Festival of the Children of the World an important moment during the summer.

RIFE

Née du désir commun du groupe local d’enfants les « P’tits Châgnes » et de la Municipalité de Saint-Maixent L’Ecole, la semaine de festivités programmée en juillet, a suscité la création en mai 1990 d’une association loi 1901 : les Rencontres Internationales Folkloriques Enfantines (R.I.F.E.)

Depuis, le Festival des Enfants du Monde organisé par l’association est devenu un événement classé au premier plan des manifestations culturelles du Haut Val de Sèvre et de la région Poitou-Charentes. Pendant 7 jours, la ville, à mi-chemin entre Poitiers et  La Rochelle, s’anime et se pare des mille couleurs des jeunes artistes âgés de 7 à 14 ans, venus de par le monde. Ces rencontres d’enfants de toutes nations, origines et confessions, rendent compte de la fraternité naturelle des jeunes. Ces enfants trouvent dans le Saint-Maixentais une authentique terre d’accueil : l’équipe organisatrice du festival prend en compte autant la qualité des spectacles que le bien-être des petits invités.

Chaque année, de nombreuses nations rendent hommage à la musique, la danse et le chant traditionnels. Ces rencontres permettent à chacun de voyager au travers d’animations de rues, de spectacles exotiques, de concerts et d’apéros-concerts. Sans oublier le marché artisanal, les expositions ou encore le patrimoine en musiques qui font du FESTIVAL DES ENFANTS DU MONDE un moment fort de la période estivale.